End of this page section.

Begin of page section: Contents:

The Americas

Regional Focus: North, Central and South America

In 2012, the University of Graz established "The Americas" (North, Central and South America) as its second regional focus, aiming to strengthen the existing cooperations in these regions as well as to set up new partnerships and collaborative efforts. As a result, several universities in "The Americas" have become strategic partners of the University of Graz.

Center for Inter-American Studies (C.IAS)

The Center for Inter-American Studies (C.IAS) is a research institution in the field of Inter-American Studies coordinating research, teaching, collaboration, and outreach of the University of Graz regarding North, Central, and South America. By engaging in an interdisciplinary analysis of new conceptual approaches which redefine the Americas (“The Americas – Las Américas – Les Amériques”), and by exploring historical, economic, political, social and cultural contexts of these regions, the Center for Inter-American Studies implements the strategy of the University of Graz concerning one of its defined strategic focus regions. In addition, the Center provides the University of Graz as a Central European institution of higher learning a platform for transregional collaboration on a transatlantic level.

Scholarship Program "Science without Borders"

The University of Graz is a partner in the scholarship program "Science without Borders" of the Brazilian government, which provides funding for Brazilian BA, Master or PhD study stays at the University of Graz.

Mobility Grants

The Office of International Relations offers mobility grants to university staff for activities related to the strategic focus "The Americas" that concern the seven research core areas. You can find more information on grant application here:

Contact

Mag. Doris Knasar
Strassoldogasse 10, 8010 Graz
Phone:+43 (0)316 380 - 2213
Fax:+43 (0)316 380 - 9155

Office hours:
Mon - Thu 9.30 - 12am, Wed 1 - 3pm
(During course free time: Monday-Thursday 10-12am)
and on appointment

End of this page section.

Begin of page section: Additional information:


End of this page section.

The Americas

Beginn des Seitenbereichs: Inhalt:

Geographische Fokusregion: Nord-, Mittel- und Südamerika

Im Entwicklungsplan 2013-2018 wurde mit „The Americas“ (Nord-, Mittel- und Südamerika) eine weitere geographische Fokusregion der Universität Graz festgelegt mit dem Ziel, die bestehenden Kooperationen der Universität Graz in diesem Raum zu stärken bzw. neue Partnerschaften und Aktivitäten zu forcieren. Der Bedeutung dieser Zielsetzung wurde auch in der Aufnahme einiger Universitäten aus der Fokusregion „The Americas“ in die Reihe der strategischen Partnerschaften der Universität Graz Ausdruck verliehen.

Zentrum für Inter-Amerikanische Studien (C.IAS)

Das Zentrum für Inter-Amerikanische Studien (C.IAS) ist eine Forschungseinrichtung im Bereich der Interamerikanistik, die die Agenden der Universität Graz im Bereich Nord-, Mittel- und Südamerika entsprechend der regionalen Schwerpunktsetzung der Universität Graz bündelt und koordiniert. Zielsetzung des Zentrums ist es, die Kulturräume der Amerikas („The Americas – Las Américas – Les Amériques“) interdisziplinären und interkulturellen Analysen zu unterziehen und im Sinne einer transregionalen Perspektive die historischen, wirtschaftlichen und soziokulturellen Zusammenhänge dieser Regionen zu untersuchen. Das Zentrum für Inter-Amerikanische Studien bietet ein interdisziplinäres und interregionales Netzwerk für Forschung, Lehre, Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und Service in Bezug auf Nord-, Mittel- und Südamerika an und  schafft eine tragfähige Plattform für die Kommunikation und Zusammenarbeit auf transatlantischer Ebene. 

Stipendienprogramm „Science without Borders“

Die Universität Graz beteiligt sich auch am Stipendienprogramm „Science without Borders“ der brasilianischen Regierung, bei dem brasilianischen BA, Master bzw. PhD Studierenden die Möglichkeit eines finanzierten Studienaufenthaltes an der Universität Graz geboten wird.

Mobilitätszuschüsse

Aktivitäten von Universitätsbediensteten im Rahmen der sieben Forschungsschwerpunkte mit Bezug zur Fokusregion „The Americas“ werden vom Büro für Internationale Beziehungen durch Mobilitätszuschüsse finanziell unterstützt. Weitere Informationen zur Antragstellung finden Sie auf folgenden Webseiten:

Ende dieses Seitenbereichs.
Zur Übersicht der Seitenbereiche.

Beginn des Seitenbereichs:

Kontakt

Mag. Doris Knasar
Strassoldogasse 10, 8010 Graz

+43 (0)316 380 - 2213
+43 (0)316 380 - 9155

Parteienverkehrszeiten:
Mo - Do von 9.30 - 12, Mi von 13 - 15 Uhr
(vorlesungsfreie Zeiten: Mo - Do von 10 - 12 Uhr)
und nach telefonischer Vereinbarung

Ende dieses Seitenbereichs.
Zur Übersicht der Seitenbereiche.