End of this page section.

Begin of page section: Contents:

Best of South-East

Academic Year 2019/20

Call is subject to final decision by the relevant committees

GENERAL INFORMATION

Based on the successful implementation of the programme since 2008 "Steiermärkische Sparkasse" in cooperation with the University of Graz will continue “Best of South-East”, a programme aiming at the advancement and further education of talented and dedicated graduates and students from Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, Montenegro and the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (F.Y.R.O.M.).

The programme's aim is to provide selected candidates with training and further education opportunities as well as international work experience. Furthermore, the programme aims at facilitating the participant’s entry into professional life.

TRAINEE PROGRAM & INTERNSHIP

Graduates or students in business, economics or law at accredited universities in Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, Montenegro and the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia” (F.Y.R.O.M.) as well as students of the University of Graz holding a status as „ordentliche Studierende“ who originally come from one of the target countries will be given the opportunity to complete a  trainee program or an internship program at the "Steiermärkische Sparkasse". Selected courses at the University of Graz will round off the academic training and education of the students.

  • Students still enrolled at bachelor level at the time of application (i.e. 05.12.2018), as well as students who are in the beginning of their diploma programme (i.e. programme not in line with the Bologna system, comprising bachelor and master level in one) can only apply for the internship program.
  • Students enrolled in the 4th or 5th year of a diploma programme (i.e. programme not in line with the Bologna system, comprising bachelor and master level in one program) as well as students enrolled in the last year of a 4-year-Bachelor programme, can apply for the trainee or internship program.
    Note though that in case of selection, enrollment at the University of Graz in this case will be at bachelor level.
  • Applicants having completed the bachelor- or master programme in the year leading up to the programme deadline (graduation as indicate on the diploma = 01.12.2017 - 05.12.2018) as well as master and doctoral students can apply for the trainee or internship program.

Both programme options last one year (September to August):

  • Candidates participating in the "Best of South-East” trainee programme will attend selected courses at University of Graz and extend their academic knowledge and their language skills in addition to their one-year training in the "Steiermärkische Sparkasse". Trainees will complete the last month of the programme at one of the bank's locations in South-Eastern Europe. Trainees selected for the programme must complete a minimum of 16 ECTS / academic year at the University of Graz.
  • Candidates participating in the “Best of South-East” programme as an intern will focus on attending courses at the University of Graz that are relevant for completing their studies at their home university. In a two-month internship in the summer after the end of the academic year participants will get strongly involved in the daily business of "Steiermärkische Sparkasse" at one of its locations in Styria or in South-Eastern Europe. Internship candidates selected for the programme must complete a minimum of 30 ECTS / academic year at the University of Graz.

APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS

Interested parties have to meet the following minimum requirements:

  • Proof of good command of German (Trainees B1, Interns A2)
  • Excellent command of English 
  • Native language: Slovenian, Bosnian, Croatian, Serbian, Montenegrin or Macedonian
  • Studies/degree in economics or law with very good marks
  • Age: max. 27 years at the time of application
  • Dedication, strong communications skills, flexibility, analytical and practical economic thinking

FAQ – FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

CHANCES THROUGH "Best of South-East"

Applicants will be selected on the basis of their personal statement, their academic performance and their references. The selection procedure includes both representatives of the "Steiermärkische Sparkasse" and the University of Graz. In the personal statement, special attention is paid to the applicants‘ interest as well as their personal motivation for applying for the trainee or internship programme.

As a first step the University of Graz will review the documents on a legal and academic basis. Applicants who are eligible for the programme after this review will then be invited to a regional preselection. The best applicants of this preselection will then be invited to the final selection meeting in Graz. 

Various events allow the participants to integrate into the economic, cultural and academic life of Styria. In addition, participants can take language courses offered by the University of Graz in order to broaden and improve their language skills.

Dedicated participants will experience a close attachment to "Steiermärkische Sparkasse" which is further promoted by the in-company mentoring system.

"Steiermärkische Sparkasse" and the University of Graz reserve the right to dismiss candidates prior to the end of the programme if they do not adhere to the agreed programme guidelines.

SCHOLARSHIP

The total amount of financial aid per year and participant is a maximum of EUR 10,000 and specifically consists of the following services:

  • EUR 690,- spending money per month
  • Intensive language course or semester language course at the “Treffpunkt Sprachen” language center of the University of Graz
  • Registration at the University of Graz
  • Tuition waiver for the University of Graz
  • Various networking events throughout the year

APPLICATION DEADLINE

Please e-mail your complete application documents scanned in PDF format (entire application = 1 PDF file) by 11.12.2018, 11.59 a.m. CET (receiving deadline) to christa.grassauer(at)uni-graz.at.

APPLICATION PROCEDURE AND DOCUMENTS

To receive the Code for the Online application please contact christa.grassauer(at)uni-graz.at and in your email provide the following information:

  • First and last name (according to your passport)
  • Name of home university in national language and in English
  • Information on studies:
    • Students: level of program (Bachelor/Diploma Studies/Master/Doctorate) and field of study, for which you are currently enrolled at your home university, including the expected date of completion.
    • Graduates: last degree completed -> information on level of program (Bachelor/Diploma Studies/Master) and field of study as well as date of graduation according to diploma
  • In case you have already studied at an Austrian university in the past, mention when and at which university and also provide your student Austrian ID number (=Matrikelnummer)

Applying for the programme is a two-step process:

  • Step 1: Online application 
  • Step 2: Sending the complete application documents scanned as 1 PDF-file via email to christa.grassauer(at)uni-graz.at by 05.12.2018

Checklist - complete application documents

Template – DSGVO consent form

Template - study plan (Bachelor/Master applicants)

Template - Letter of Invitation/Supervision (Doctoral applicants)

Search the complete course guide or – in case you are only taking English-taught classes – the search engine for English-taught classes to identify the courses for your study plan.
As the courses for the upcoming academic year will not be published until July, you will have to work with the classes of the current year for now when completing your study plan:

Coontact for your application: Karl Franzens-University Graz

Contact

Christa Grassauer
Universitaetsplatz 3, 8010 Graz
Phone:+43 (0)316 380 - 1254
Fax:+43 (0)316 380 - 9156

Office hours:
Mon-Fri 9.30-12pm, Wed 1-3pm
(During holidays: Monday-Thursday 10am-12pm)
and by appointment

Contact person

Tel.: +43 (0)5 0100-35531

Fax:+43 (0)5 0100-935531

End of this page section.

Begin of page section: Additional information:


End of this page section.

Ende dieses Seitenbereichs.

Beginn des Seitenbereichs: Inhalt:

Best of South-East

Studienjahr 2019/20

Ausschreibung vorbehaltlich der Beschlussfassung in den Gremien

ALLGEMEINE INFORMATION

Aufgrund der erfolgreichen Implementierung des Programms seit 2008 führt die "Steiermärkische Sparkasse" auch dieses Jahr in Kooperation mit der Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz „Best of South-East“ - das Förderungs- und Weiterbildungsprogramm für talentierte und leistungsbereite UniversitätsabsolventInnen und Studierende aus Slowenien, Kroatien, Bosnien und Herzegowina, Serbien, Montenegro und der ehemaligen jugoslawischen Republik Mazedonien (F.Y.R.O.M.) weiter.

Ziel des Programms ist es, den ausgewählten KandidatInnen Aus- bzw. Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten sowie internationale Berufserfahrung zu bieten, sowie den Einstieg in das Berufsleben zu erleichtern.

TRAINEEPROGRAMM & PRAKTIKUM

AbsolventInnen oder Studierende eines Studiums der Wirtschafts- oder Rechtswissenschaften an anerkannten Universitäten Sloweniens, Kroatiens, Bosnien und Herzegowinas, Serbiens, Montenegros und der ehemaligen jugoslawischen Republik Mazedonien (F.Y.R.O.M.) sowie ordentliche Studierende der Universität Graz mit Herkunft aus einem der genannten Länder erhalten die Möglichkeit, ein Traineeprogramm oder ein Praktikum bei der "Steiermärkischen Sparkasse" zu absolvieren. Die wissenschaftliche Begleitung und Weiterbildung erfolgt über ausgewählte Lehrveranstaltungen der Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz.

  • Studierende, die zum Zeitpunkt der Bewerbung (d.h. 05.12.2018) im Bachelorstudium eingeschrieben sind bzw. sich am Beginn eines Diplomstudiums (d.h. nicht Bologna-konformen Programmen, die Bachelor und Masterlevel in einem Programm vereinen) befinden, können sich nur für das Praktikumsprogramm bewerben.
  • Studierende im 4. oder 5. Jahr eines Diplomprogramms (d.h. nicht Bologna-konformen Programmen, die Bachelor und Masterlevel in einem Programm vereinen) bzw. Studierende im letzten Jahr eines 4-jähriges Bachelorprogramms können sich für das Trainee- oder Praktikumsprogramm bewerben. Bitte beachten Sie, dass im Falle der Auswahl die Einschreibung auf Bachelorlevel erfolgen wird. 
  • BewerberInnen, die das Bachelor- oder Masterstudium innerhalb des Jahres vor der Einreichfrist (Studienabschluss laut Diplom = 01.12.2017-05.12.2018) bereits abgeschlossen haben bzw. Master- oder Doktoratsstudierende können sich für das Trainee- oder Praktikumsprogramm bewerben.

Beide Programmvarianten sind einjährig (September bis August):

  • KandidatInnen, die  am Traineeprogramm „Best of South-East“ teilnehmen, besuchen ausgewählte Kurse an der Universität Graz und erweitern ihre Sprachkenntnisse zusätzlich zur einjährigen Ausbildung in der Steiermärkischen Sparkasse. Trainees absolvieren das letzte Monat im Traineeprogramm an einem Standort in Südosteuropa. Trainees absolvieren verpflichtend ein Minimum an 16 ECTS im Studienjahr an der Universität Graz.
  • KandidatInnen, die am Praktikumsprogramm „Best of South-East“ teilnehmen, erhalten während ihres einjährigen Aufenthaltes in Graz die Möglichkeit, an der Universität Graz Kurse zu absolvieren, die für den Studienabschluss an der Heimatuniversität relevant sind. In einem zweimonatigen Praktikum im Sommer im Anschluss an das Studienjahr erleben PraktikantInnen eine intensive Einbindung in die Alltagsgeschäfte der Steiermärkischen Sparkasse an einem ihrer Standorte in der Steiermark oder in Südosteuropa. PraktikantInnen absolvieren verpflichtend ein Minimum an 30 ECTS im Studienjahr.

BEWERBUNGSVORAUSSETZUNGEN

InteressentInnen verfügen über folgende Mindestanforderungen:

  • Nachweis guter Deutschkenntnisse (Trainee B1, PraktikantIn A2)
  • Ausgezeichnete Englischkenntnisse 
  • Muttersprache Slowenisch, Bosnisch, Kroatisch, Serbisch, Montenegrinisch oder Mazedonisch
  • Wirtschafts- oder Rechtswissenschaftliches Studium mit sehr gutem Erfolg
  • BewerberInnern sind im max. 27 Lebensjahr zum Zeitpunkt der Bewerbung
  • Leistungsbereitschaft, Kommunikationsstärke, Flexibilität, analytisches sowie praxisorientiert wirtschaftliches Denken

FAQ – HÄUFIG GESTELLTE FRAGEN

CHANCEN

Die BewerberInnen werden auf Grund ihres persönlichen Motivationsschreibens sowie ihrer Studienleistungen und Referenzen in einem gemeinsamen Verfahren durch VertreterInnen der "Steiermärkischen Sparkasse" und der Universität Graz ausgewählt. Im Motivationsschreiben wird besonders auf die Interessensschwerpunkte der BewerberInnen sowie ihre Beweggründe zur Bewerbung für das Traineeprogramm oder Praktikum geachtet.

Zunächst erfolgt nach der Deadline eine rechtlichen Überprüfung und akademische Begutachtung der Unterlagen an der Universität Graz. BewerberInnen, die nach dieser Überprüfung der Unterlagen und der akademischen Eignung grundsätzlich für das Programm in Frage kommen, werden zur regionalen Vorauswahl eingeladen. Die besten BewerberInnen  aus den regionalen Vorauswahlen werden zur Endauswahl nach Graz einladen.

Unterschiedliche Events garantieren die Einbindung der TeilnehmerInnen in das wirtschaftliche, kulturelle und akademische Leben der Steiermark. Zusätzlich können TeilnehmerInnen zur Erweiterung und Verbesserung ihrer Sprachkenntnisse das Sprachkursangebot der Universität in Anspruch nehmen.

TeilnehmerInnen erfahren durch ihr Engagement in der "Steiermärkischen Sparkasse" eine enge Bindung an das Unternehmen, die durch das unternehmensinterne Mentoringsystem gestützt wird. Die zusätzliche akademische Begleitung in Form der Aus- oder Weiterbildung komplettiert „Best of South-East“ als Sprungbrett in eine interessante und herausfordernde internationale berufliche Zukunft.

"Steiermärkische Sparkasse" und die Universität Graz behalten sich vor, KandidatInnen, die sich nicht an die vereinbarten Richtlinien halten, vor Ablauf der vorgesehenen Dauer aus dem Programm zu entlassen.

STIPENDIUM

Der Förderungsgesamtbetrag beträgt pro TeilnehmerIn maximal EUR 10.000,- jährlich und besteht insbesondere aus folgenden Leistungen:

  • Monatliches Stipendium in der Höhe von EUR 690,-
  • Intensivsprachkurs oder semesterbegleitender Sprachkurs des Sprachenzentrums „Treffpunkt Sprachen“ der Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz
  • Einschreibung an der Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz
  • Befreiung vom Studienbeitrag an der Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz
  • Veranstaltungen (Networking, …) im Jahresverlauf

BEWERBUNGSFRIST

Ihre vollständigen Bewerbungsunterlagen übermitteln Sie in PDF-Format (gesamte Bewerbung = 1 PDF) per Email bis 11.12.2018 11.59 MEZ (Einlangen der vollständigen Bewerbung): christa.grassauer(at)uni-graz.at.

BEWERBUNGSABLAUF UND -UNTERLAGEN

Um einen Code für die Online Bewerbung zu erhalten, wenden Sie sich bitte an christa.grassauer(at)uni-graz.at und geben Sie folgende Informationen bekannt:

  • Vor- und Familienname (wie im Reisepass)
  • Name der Heimatuniversität in Landessprache und in englischer Sprache
  • Information zum Studium:
    • Studierende: derzeitiger Studienlevel (Bachelor / Diplomstudium / Master / Doktorat) und derzeitige Studienrichtung, in die Sie derzeit an der Heimatuniversität eingeschrieben sind inkl. voraussichtliches Datum des Studienabschlusses;
    • AbsolventInnen: letzter Studienabschluss -> Angabe von Studienlevel (Bachelor / Diplomstudium / Master) und Studienrichtung sowie Abschlussdatum laut Diplom
  • Falls Sie bereits in der Vergangenheit an einer österreichischen Universität studiert haben, geben Sie bitte an wann und an welcher Universität und geben Sie Ihre österreichische Matrikelnummer an.

Die Bewerbung ist ein 2-stufiger Bewerbungsprozess:

  • Schritt 1: Online Bewerbung
  • Schritt 2: Senden der vollständigen Bewerbungsunterlagen per E-Mail bis spätestens 05.12.2018, 13.00 MEZ

Checkliste - vollständige Bewerbungsunterlagen

Template – DSGVO Einverständniserklärung

Template - Kursplan (Bachelor/Master AntragstellerInnen)

Template - Einladung (Doktoratsstudierende)

Verwenden Sie für die Suche nach Lehrveranstaltungen unseren Online-Kurskatalog bzw. wenn Sie nur Kurse in englischer Sprache besuchen – die Suche nach englischsprachiger Lehre.Da die Kurse für das kommende akademische Jahr erst ab Juli zur Verfügung stehen, verwenden Sie für die Erstellung Ihres Kursplans die Kurse des laufenden akademischen Jahres:

Ansprechperson für Ihre Bewerbung: Karl Franzens-Universität Graz

Kontakt

Mag. Christa Grassauer
Universitätsplatz 3, 8010 Graz
Telefon:+43 (0)316 380 - 1254
Fax:+43 (0)316 380 - 9156

Öffnungszeiten:
Mo - Fr von 9.30 - 12, Mi von 13 - 15 Uhr
(vorlesungsfreie Zeiten: Mo - Do von 10 - 12 Uhr)
und nach telefonischer Vereinbarung

Ansprechperson

Tel.: +43 (0)5 0100-35531

Fax:+43 (0)5 0100-935531

Ende dieses Seitenbereichs.

Beginn des Seitenbereichs: Zusatzinformationen:


Ende dieses Seitenbereichs.